First Stage of Transition into Natural/Organic Cosmetics

photo 3

In my first post I explained that I had so many cosmetics that I wanted to make sure I used them up before getting any new natural ones, so as not to waste anything. So last week I made my first natural purchases after running out of a few things.

I got this lovely gorgeous smelling package from feel unique, I didn’t realise they had such an extensive natural and organic section, so definitely have a look on there if you’re looking for natural products.

Despite not actually running out of deodorant I knew that would be one of the first things I would buy because I’m just so put off conventional deodorant now, especially after finding out it’s a leading cause of breast cancer. So I was just going to use baking powder like a lot of natural product users talk about but I don’t think I’m really at that stage and wanted to try out some actual deodorants first. So I want for this Jason apricot one. (Another great thing about feel unique is that they have a wishlist so I have added a few other deodorants on there that I’d like to try out too.) My first impression was “Isn’t apricot a strange smell for deodorant”, but actually it’s nice. It’s subtle which I think deodorant should be and reasonably priced. It claims to last all day but I’m not convinced so far. We have had a heat wave though, so it’s unlikely a lot of deodorants would last all day in this heat, I know the ones I was using before wouldn’t but with this because it is so natural I feel like I could put it on as many times as I like, it’s so gentle. It has really softened the skin under my arms too, it’s quite like a balm instead of liquid like conventional deodorant. I think I would repurchase if I didn’t find something that lasts better. I’ll give 7/10.

I was getting low on lip balm and to be honest really wasn’t enjoying lip balm in a pot any more, which all my good conventional ones were. I was looking for the Dr Bronner’s lip balm because I’d heard good things about it but I saw these Badger ones, on feel unique and thought they sounded just as good and had good reviews too. They work out just under £2 a lip balm which I think is great and they do really work. They last a while if you’re not drinking loads and the smells are nice too. I gave one to my Mum and one to my Nan and they both really like them. The vanilla one is my favourite.  I’d give them 9/10 I would repurchase. Great for gifts too.

Lastly I got this Jason Cocoa Butter hand and body lotion, I got it as a hand cream (I still have loads of body butter to get through) and well I really didn’t think this one through. For a hand cream this smell is just no good. The small lasts all day long. Which is good, but not for hand cream when you’re eating etc because that’s all you can smell. I can’t really comment on this yet because I haven’t been using it that much because of the smell but I think it’ll make a good body butter, it soaks in well and feels moisturising. As a hand cream I give 5/10 because the smell just doesn’t work.

I’m going to run out of shampoo and conditioner soon so I will keep you posted on what I try out. Let me know of any recommendations you have for natural products and I might give them a try.

2 thoughts on “First Stage of Transition into Natural/Organic Cosmetics

Leave a comment